Home » Featured » The Crimson White’s award-winning year

The Crimson White’s award-winning year

The Crimson White continued to prove it is one of the nation’s best college newspapers during the 2014-15 academic year, winning 17  national and regional honors, including 10 first place awards. The latest honor was announced in May when the newspaper’s editorial board won first place nationally in the editorial writing category of the Society of Professional Journalists’ Mark of Excellence Awards. The newspaper will be honored at the SPJ’s national convention in September.

The Crimson White also successfully transitioned from a traditional broadsheet paper in 2014 to a more visual, updated tabloid format. (The new design is evident in the accompanying photo of front page posters now displayed on a wall in the newsroom. That’s new CW Editor-in-Chief Sean Landry at his desk in the photo.)

A list of the newspaper’s 2014-15 honors:

National Awards:

First Place—Editorial Writing: The Crimson White Editorial Board for “UA students not to blame,” “Continuing transparency,” and “Thanks for the memories.” Society of Professional Journalists Mark of Excellence Awards.

First Place—Best Investigative Story: Abbey Crain and Matt Ford for “The Final Barrier.” College Media Association Pinnacle Awards.

First Place—Best Breaking News Story: Deanne Winslett and Mackenzie Brown for “The march to Rose.” CMA Pinnacle Awards.

First Place—Best Sports Game Story: Marc Torrence for “Nightmare in Jordan-Hare.” CMA Pinnacle Awards.

First Place—Best Use of Multimedia: Daniel Roth for “Stepping Through,” a documentary. Associated Collegiate Press Story of the Year Awards.

First Place—Diversity Reporting: Abbey Crain and Matt for “The Final Barrier.” ACP Story of the Year Awards.

Second Place—Four-Year Website of the Year. The Crimson White. CMA Pinnacle Awards.

Third Place—Best Column: John Brinkerhoff for “It’s time to change the damn state.” CMA Pinnacle Awards.

Regional Awards/SPJ Mark of Excellence Awards/Region 3

First Place—Best All-Around Daily Newspaper. The Crimson White.

First Place—Editorial Writing. The Crimson White Editorial Board.

First Place—Best Feature Writing. Hannah Widener and Francie Johnson.

First Place—Best Sports Photography. Pete Pajor.

Finalist (top 3)—Online News Reporting. Andy McWhorter.

Finalist (top 3)—Best Photo Illustration. Pete Pajor and Sloane Arogeti. SPJ Mark of Excellence Awards/Region 3.

Finalist (top 3)—Best Sports Writing. Mary-Catherine Hodges and Reed O’Mara.

Finalist (top 3)—Best Use of Multimedia. Holly Jackson.

Finalist (top 3)—Editorial Cartooning. Kevin Pabst