Home » Featured » The Crimson White wins nine SPJ honors

The Crimson White wins nine SPJ honors

Congratulations to our students at The Crimson White for winning nine honors—including four First Place awards—in the Society of Professional Journalists’ 2014 Region 3 Mark of Excellence Awards, announced this week. Region 3 includes college media outlets in Florida, Georgia, Alabama and South Carolina. The first place winners go on to the national competition.

The Crimson White was named—for the fourth year in a row—the Best All-Around Daily Student Newspaper in the region, and also won first place in Best Editorial Writing (CW Editorial Board), Best Sports Photography (Pete Pajor for “On the Road Again”), and Best Feature Writing (Francie Johnson and Hannah Widener for “The person I was born to be”).

The newspaper’s staffers were also finalists (among the top 3 of all entries) in these categories: Online news reporting (Andy McWhorter), Photo Illustration (Pete Pajor and Sloane Arogeti), Sports Writing (Mary-Catherine Hodges and Reed O’Mara), Best Use of Multimedia (Holly Jackson), and Editorial Cartooning (Kevin Pabst).

The Crimson White competes in the large university (10,000 or more students) category in the SPJ contest.